Fly Fishing report Sycamore creek+ fly fishing question about chick dam and N chick creek

cptenn94

Fly Fishing report Sycamore creek+ fly fishing question about chick dam and N chick creek

Hello I am quite new to fly fishing. I seem to have basic technique down and am capable of catching fish.

I recently was able to do a half day trip down to sycamore creek. I wanted to try out my 3 wt rod I got for fishing mountain creeks like sycamore creek( I already owned a longer 5 wt rod)

Ultimately the rod and line performed as needed and expected, so I am satisfied with my purchase.

To the report. So I finally had arrived after driving along river road which is full of many curves. I was going to park and get some pictures of bald river falls but the parking area was packed. So I continue on until I finally reached my destination. Sycamore creek. I then begin by fishing the closest area which I believed held fish; the area immediately below the water barrier(dam) near the bottom of the creek. After casting a few times my suspicions are confirmed as I hook a fish,. After a short fight I manage to get the fish to be still long enough to take a picture.
P8220032_zps7xkgsjuj.jpg