Batteries Can this thred be posted so it pops up every time there is a question on batteries

fischnrod

Batteries Can this thred be posted so it pops up every time there is a question on batteries

Regardless which battery you buy, the life of it depends on how well it is maintained. I was an electrician in the Coast Guard and my job often included maintaining batteries located all over the ship. I maintained all kinds and descriptions of batteries from single engine, diesel powered life boats to large banks of batteries for emergency back up power for gyro compasses. I saw first hand that a perfectly maintained battery will last twice as long as one that is maintained in a "good" manner.

First and foremost, a battery must not be allowed to EVER remain in a discharged or partially discharged state more that a few hours. Otherwise, sulfation will set in on the plates. To allow ANY sulfation is equivalent to killing the battery by degrees. To avoid sulfation, always put the battery on slow charge immediately upon returning home from a fishing trip. Keep the battery on charge until all cells "equalize" in their amperage. It is best practice to "float" the battery by keeping it connected to a really good, automatic float charger. Otherwise, you will need to trickle charge it for 24 hours at a time, once a week. Next, never allow the water level to drop low enough to expose the plates to air. The portion of the plates exposed to air for just 24 hours will reduce the ability of the exposed parts to hold only about 1/2 the previous power level, regardless what you do to counter the damage.