Help a Brother Out: New to the Area

Hey everyone,

My name is Seth and I just recently moved to the area. I work as the digital brand manager for American Angler, Fly Tyer, and Gray's Sporting Journal; I also serve as the editor for The Angling Report. Long story short, I work in the fly fishing industry, but am new to the area and know next to nothing about the local fisheries.

I now live off of Savannah Bay (which I understand may or may not be a carp on the fly honeyhole) and am interested in learning about both the lakes, reservoirs, rivers, etc. Few questions: Do the stripers on any local impoundments (especially Chick) bust bait on the topwater, and become accessible on fly rod? Where is the best area/river to float for smallies? Finally, anyone with info and tips on Muskie on the fly is automatically my new best friend.

Here's the deal, since I know the rules and rarely in life do you get something for nothing, I'm willing to trade boat time for anyone interested in showing me around. I'll have a new Towee Rivermaster Calusa here in a few weeks, and I'm happy to take anyone out who has credible info, but is not willing to share on a forum.

Help a brother out! emoToast

go blue

Welcome. I have a cousin who use to own a fly shop and we use to fly fish the rivers around here. I know he still does. I can call him and see if he will or even show you around if you would like me to.

rstewart

Talk to the folks at Reliance Fly and Tackle. They might know where you might fly fish for Stripers as the move up the Hiwassee.

go blue

423-327-1567. His name is Greg. This is my cousin I was telling you about. He said call him and he would be more than happy to help you out. Just tell him that you got his number from Nick Chuba.

Troutbum

Hey Seth - welcome to the area.