Boat loans and financing??

Hey guys I was hoping to get some advice/info on financing a boat. I have looked into a couple different places but the length of loan terms seem a little short. Any suggestions on companies or lenders to go thru? What kind of terms and rates to expect? New boats vs used boats? Thanks guys

beetlespin

Tennessee Valley Federal Credit Union or another credit union. Waste of time to call Reclending or anybody like that.

Yeah I've been approved thru Tennessee valley, but I was really hoping for a longer term. A new boat can become a big Payment real quick. I don't know how some guys do it with the higher end rigs. I must be in the wrong profession lol

Well I was going to say TVFCU but you already tried that and did not like the terms. I am no expert but I did just finance a boat through TVFCU. It is all about debt to income ratio from what I saw. I was so fortunate that my wife agreed to be on the credit app along with me for more income to list. If you are married and both have good credit it may help. Twenty years ago when I did not have good credit I got pinched with a new big boat payment as well. But I had to go through with it because fishing addiction is real and I had blinders on. But after a couple of years of solid payments I refinanced it at a lower rate and longer term to help ease the amount monthly. I wish you luck and restraint. Remember that boat loans are a "recreational" item and you rarely if ever get that 0.9% rate or whatever like truck and car dealers offer. But you can usually get a 10 -15 year term but at a higher rate depending on your score. Just my take. Again.....good luck.

churly

The depreciation on a boat is so great, you may consider bitting the bullet and saving up enough cash to go by a used rig. Do your home work and you can find a deal.

bullshot